View Full Version : Problem with "Split Source String at First Occurrence of Search String"
NewsArchive
04-27-2009, 12:56 AM
In SB6 2560:
Given the string '(text1),(text2)' split on first occurrence of '('
returns 'text2)' as the portion after the first occurrence.
I consider that to be the portion after the 2nd occurrence of the source
string.
My workaround is to prefix a character other than '(' to the source.
However, I consider this a bug.
--
Phil Carroll
http://www.enablingsimplicity.com
NewsArchive
04-27-2009, 12:56 AM
Hi Friedrich,
I would like to see an option:
- Split BEFORE the first occurence
- Split AFTER the first occurence
Markus
NewsArchive
04-27-2009, 12:57 AM
Phil,
> I consider that to be the portion after the 2nd occurrence of the source
> string.
Yes, you are right. The correct value should be 'text1),(text2)' in this
case.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910
SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes
-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner
NewsArchive
04-28-2009, 01:05 AM
Markus,
> I would like to see an option:
> - Split BEFORE the first occurence
> - Split AFTER the first occurence
Split already does that. You have four arguments (not in this order):
S1) The string to split
S2) The search argument
v1) a variable to receive the part before the search argument
v2) a variable to receive the part after the search argument
Given:
S1 = 'abcdefgh'
S2 = 'de'
After the split:
v1 = 'abc'
S2 = 'de'
v2 = 'fgh'
With repeated use of split, you can parse just about anything.
--
Phil Carroll
http://www.enablingsimplicity.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.