View Full Version : Variable %FONTSDIR% empty
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:54 AM
Hi Friedrich,
on two customer computers (Windows Server 2003 Standard with Citrix),
the variable %FONTSDIR% is empty and this cause setup to fail but it is
possible to use the windows control panel to use fonts.
Any suggestions?
Markus
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:54 AM
Hi Markus,
> on two customer computers (Windows Server 2003 Standard with Citrix), the
> variable %FONTSDIR% is empty and this cause setup to fail but it is
> possible to use the windows control panel to use fonts.
>
> Any suggestions?
GetSpecialFolder is used to retrieve CSIDL_FONTS. This API seems to fail on
the above machines.
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:56 AM
Mmmh, this is strange. CSDIL_FONTS is filled.
Please have a look at the attached script and screenshot.
Markus
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:56 AM
OK, I see, CSIDL_FONTS is filled, but wrong.
Where can I look in Windows to find this problem?
Markus
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:56 AM
> OK, I see, CSIDL_FONTS is filled, but wrong.
>
> Where can I look in Windows to find this problem?
Unfortunately, I have no idea :-(
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:57 AM
Hi Friedrich,
sure, there is a problem with the customers computer, but i guess with
SB too. Look at this results:
---------------------------
SHGetSpecialFolderPath
---------------------------
HWND = 0
PATH =
ERRORCODE = 0
RESULT = 0
LastError =
---------------------------
---------------------------
SHGetSpecialFolderPath SHGFP_TYPE_CURRENT
---------------------------
HWND = 0
PATH =
ERRORCODE = 0
RESULT = -2147467259
LastError =
---------------------------
---------------------------
SHGetSpecialFolderPath SHGFP_TYPE_DEFAULT
---------------------------
HWND = 0
PATH =
ERRORCODE = 0
RESULT = -2147024894
LastError =
---------------------------
---------------------------
Fontsdir
---------------------------
Fontsdir = ""
CSIDL_FONTS = "C:\Dokumente und
Einstellungen\Administrator.BUDENHEIM\Netzwerkumge bung"
LastError =
---------------------------
The variable %CSIDL_FONTS% hols the wrong value. It must be empty, but
it seems, that it holds the value of another CSIDL variable.
Markus
NewsArchive
12-15-2009, 02:58 AM
Hi Markus,
> sure, there is a problem with the customers computer, but i guess with SB
> too. Look at this results:
Unfortunately, we don't have any machine available to test this scenario.
But this is the original runtime source code:
if(SHGetPathFromIDList(pidl, recpath))
{
fRet = 1;
}
else
{
fRet = 0;
lstrcpy(recpath, "");
}
The variable "recpath" holds the returned system path. If the
SHGetPathFromIDList API "fails" (returns FALSE), then recpath is "cleared".
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 02:33 AM
You can try to clear recpath BEFORE you call SHGetPathFromIDList. As you
can see in my results, the API does not "fail" (Returncode = 0), it
seems to just leave the variable "untouched". I will get access to this
"special" machine tomorrow.
Markus
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 02:34 AM
Hi Markus,
> You can try to clear recpath BEFORE you call SHGetPathFromIDList. As you
> can see in my results, the API does not "fail" (Returncode = 0), it seems
> to just leave the variable "untouched". I will get access to this
> "special" machine tomorrow.
Not obvious from my previous code snippet, but the variable is initialized
with a value of "" at the beginning of the function.
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 02:34 AM
We made a small modification in the runtime. The (built-in) variable that
is initialized before %_CSIDL_FONTS% is %_CSIDL_NETHOOD% (and I think that's
the value we see in your screenshot). No idea where this is coming from
because the variable is definitely "cleared" :-(
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 02:37 AM
Should I test this for you? You can send me an internal build and I will
check this tomorrow.
Markus
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 02:37 AM
Markus,
> Should I test this for you? You can send me an internal build and I will
> check this tomorrow.
That would be great. I have re-compiled your test project with the new
runtime:
http://www.lindersoft.com/projects/Your_Project_Name-1.zip
Thanks,
Friedrich
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 03:47 AM
Hi Friedrich,
it seems to work (screenshot attached)
Markus
NewsArchive
12-16-2009, 03:48 AM
Hi Markus,
>
> it seems to work (screenshot attached)
>
Perfect, thank you!
Friedrich
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.