NewsArchive
07-21-2011, 06:12 AM
Hi Friedrich,
I am writing a wrapper for SQL 2008 Express SP2 and ran into an issue.
It requires .Net 4.0. I ran the install on a Win 7 system with .Net 4.0
installed but the SQL installer gave an error stating that .Net 4.0 was
required.
After a little digging I found out there are 2 version of .Net 4.0. A
Client and a Full version. Don't you just love Microsoft somedays.
Using SetupBuilder 7.5 it detected that 4.0 was installed but I did not see
anyway to have it detect Client vs. Full without going straight to the
registry keys.
The keys for detecting Full and Client are:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Client
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full
The annoying thing is the Version, InstallPath, etc are exactly the same
between the two version.
Here is a brief article.
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/heaths/archive/2010/05/04/detection-keys-for-net-framework-4-0-and-visual-studio-2010.aspx
Any chance you could add the logic/option to the .net status feature in SB?
TIA,
Rick
I am writing a wrapper for SQL 2008 Express SP2 and ran into an issue.
It requires .Net 4.0. I ran the install on a Win 7 system with .Net 4.0
installed but the SQL installer gave an error stating that .Net 4.0 was
required.
After a little digging I found out there are 2 version of .Net 4.0. A
Client and a Full version. Don't you just love Microsoft somedays.
Using SetupBuilder 7.5 it detected that 4.0 was installed but I did not see
anyway to have it detect Client vs. Full without going straight to the
registry keys.
The keys for detecting Full and Client are:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Client
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full
The annoying thing is the Version, InstallPath, etc are exactly the same
between the two version.
Here is a brief article.
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/heaths/archive/2010/05/04/detection-keys-for-net-framework-4-0-and-visual-studio-2010.aspx
Any chance you could add the logic/option to the .net status feature in SB?
TIA,
Rick