View Full Version : New certificate - not sure if it's working correctly.
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 02:37 AM
Hi Friedrich,
I just got a new Comodo certificate and extracted the .pfx file, set SB
to use signtool.exe and changed my #code-sign accordingly. No errors
(once I picked the right time server) but what I get when I do the code
signing is:
Adding Digital Certificate (Preprocessor)...
SIGNTOOL: C:\Products\BuildAutomator\Latest\Program Files\Icetips
Creative\Build Automator\BuildAutomator.exe
SHA1: 0
Code signed successfully: C:\Products\BuildAutomator\Latest\Program
Files\Icetips Creative\Build Automator\BuildAutomator.exe
I'm concerned about this SHA1: 0. I don't know what it means. The
certificate I ordered was SHA2, so I hope that's what I got - Signature
algorithm is sha256RSA and the signature hash algorithm is sha256 in the
"View" certificate in IE 11.
So - is everything correct here?
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 02:39 AM
Hi Friedrich
On 9/8/2015 4:16 PM, Arnor Baldvinsson wrote:
> I'm concerned about this SHA1: 0. I don't know what it means. The
> certificate I ordered was SHA2, so I hope that's what I got - Signature
> algorithm is sha256RSA and the signature hash algorithm is sha256 in the
> "View" certificate in IE 11.
>
> So - is everything correct here?
When I run Signtool verify, I get this:
SignTool Error: A certificate chain processed, but terminated in a root
certificate which is not trusted by the trust provider.
Number of errors: 1
Same on all the binaries I just signed - and everything else I tried...
Hmm...
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 02:39 AM
Hi Arnor,
> When I run Signtool verify, I get this:
>
> SignTool Error: A certificate chain processed, but terminated in a root
> certificate which is not trusted by the trust provider.
>
> Number of errors: 1
>
> Same on all the binaries I just signed - and everything else I tried...
> Hmm...
If you run the "signtool.exe verify myfile.exe" command, signtool will use
the Windows Driver Verification Policy. In order for your file to "verify"
properly you need to include the /pa switch, so that SignTool uses the
Default Authentication Verification Policy.
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 02:40 AM
Hi Arnor,
"SHA1: 0 Code signed successfully" means that you have code-signed via SHA-1
(you did not instruct the compiler to code-sign via SHA-2) and the
Authenticode process did not report any error.
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:25 PM
Hi Friedrich,
On 9/8/2015 11:30 PM, Friedrich Linder wrote:
> "SHA1: 0 Code signed successfully" means that you have code-signed via SHA-1
> (you did not instruct the compiler to code-sign via SHA-2) and the
How do you do that? I couldn't find any setting for specifying it...
See http://screencast.com/t/RuLT2sL8Ps
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:25 PM
Hi Arnor,
> How do you do that? I couldn't find any setting for specifying it...
You need the latest signtool.exe from Microsoft (at least 6.2.9200.16384)
and then use #pragma in your script and set CODESIGN_SHA to 2 for SHA-2
code-signing (please see #pragma help).
Does this help?
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:26 PM
Hi Friedrich,
> If you run the "signtool.exe verify myfile.exe" command, signtool will
> use the Windows Driver Verification Policy. In order for your file to
> "verify" properly you need to include the /pa switch, so that SignTool
> uses the Default Authentication Verification Policy. Friedrich
Got it! Works:)
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:27 PM
Hi Friedrich,
> You need the latest signtool.exe from Microsoft (at least
> 6.2.9200.16384) and then use #pragma in your script and set
> CODESIGN_SHA to 2 for SHA-2 code-signing (please see #pragma help).
> Does this help? Friedrich
OK, mine is 6.1.x so I'll grab the latest one and give it another go:)
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:28 PM
Hi Friedrich,
> You need the latest signtool.exe from Microsoft (at least
> 6.2.9200.16384) and then use #pragma in your script and set
> CODESIGN_SHA to 2 for SHA-2 code-signing (please see #pragma help).
> Does this help? Friedrich
Got the latest (6.3.x), set the pragma, changed the time server (I used
verisign yesterday and it worked, but not today;), compiled and got
SHA2: 0 - codesigning successful on all files:)
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-09-2015, 12:28 PM
Hi Arnor,
where from you got this one? From some newer SDK or you have some useful link?
I didn't find any good
Many thanks
Darko
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:12 AM
Hi Arnor,
> Got the latest (6.3.x), set the pragma, changed the time server (I used
> verisign yesterday and it worked, but not today;), compiled and got SHA2:
> 0 - codesigning successful on all files:)
Perfect! Thanks for the update :-)
BTW, if you are using SHA-2 and timestamping, make sure that you are using a
"real" SHA-2 compliant timestamp server. Otherwise, you'll get a SHA-1
timestamp.
I'll post a "HowTo" (SHA-2 and dual SHA-1/SHA-2) soon...
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:13 AM
Quick note: a correctly SHA-2 code-signed and timestamped file signature
looks like this (see attached screenshot).
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:14 AM
Arnor,
> Got the latest (6.3.x)
I am using SignTool Version 10.0 (July 2015).
Friedrich
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:15 AM
Hi Darko,
> where from you got this one? From some newer SDK or you have some useful link?
> I didn't find any good
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/desktop/bg162891.aspx
It was updated on April 29, 2015 so it's pretty fresh:) Note that it
downloads a 1MB stub that does the rest. I wish I'd found a zip/msi
download, but I didn't. Also note that it does NOT go into the
"C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs" folder but into "c:\Program
Files\Windows Kits\8.1\" which is much more logical... NOT<g> HTH:)
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:16 AM
Hi Darko,
> download, but I didn't. Also note that it does NOT go into the
> "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs" folder but into "c:\Program
> Files\Windows
Should have said: "Also note that it does NOT _install_ into the..."
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 02:16 AM
thanks Arnor, done!
Darko
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 10:46 AM
Oh good. Thanks.
Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.
Grammar troll's, are the worse.
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 10:46 AM
Dear Arnor, Friedrich and all good souls here!
Did that
copied from D:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\bin\x64\signtool.exe
over my present signtool.exe.
Now it does not work anymore at all...
Best regards
Edvard
NewsArchive
09-10-2015, 10:48 AM
Hi Edvard
I think the signtool.exe is windows version/ 32-64bit dependant.
Try using the one from
D:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\bin\x86\signtool.exe
JohnG
>copied from D:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\bin\x64\signtool.exe
>over my present signtool.exe.
>
>Now it does not work anymore at all...
NewsArchive
09-11-2015, 02:13 AM
Hi Friedrich,
> I am using SignTool Version 10.0 (July 2015). Friedrich
Yes, I meant to say the latest 8.x SDK as I'm on 8. I know the 10 SDK
works on 8 but why rattle the giant's cage?<g>
Windows 10 SDK: https://dev.windows.com/en-us/downloads
Information: https://dev.windows.com/en-us/downloads/windows-10-sdk
Best regards,
--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC
NewsArchive
09-11-2015, 02:13 AM
The reason was a bit funny.
In the folder, there is a file named 'signtool.exe.manifest'
If it's there, the proces fails.
If not, it runs as expected.
@Friedrich - Perhaps an important info?
Best regards
Edvard Korsbæk
NewsArchive
09-12-2015, 02:37 AM
Hi Edvard,
> The reason was a bit funny.
>
> In the folder, there is a file named 'signtool.exe.manifest'
>
> If it's there, the proces fails.
>
> If not, it runs as expected.
>
> @Friedrich - Perhaps an important info?
This is a typical "side-by-side" configuration error. The external "dummy"
manifest file for signtool requests specific dependency assemblies
("0.0.0.0" in this case). Don't use an external manifest file for
Authenticode tools.
Friedrich
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.