View Full Version : SB Operator Input at generate time
NewsArchive
03-12-2008, 03:03 AM
Is there a way that I can get my SB script to update a variable value
from the operator when generating the install exe?
What I want to do is customise the install on some occasions. (Site
name, special note...etc)
Thanks
John Newman
Software Partners Australia
NewsArchive
03-12-2008, 03:04 AM
Hi John,
Yes, absolutely no problem. Use a compiler variable to set the value of a
runtime variable and you are done.
For example, you create a compiler variable named [MY_COMPILER_VAR].
In your script you use:
Set Variable "%TEST% to "[MY_COMPILER_VAR]"
You can now set the value of the %TEST% runtime variable to the value of the
compiler variable at compiler time (from the command line, Releases, from
the script, etc.).
Does this help?
Friedrich
--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910
"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes
-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner
NewsArchive
03-12-2008, 03:04 AM
> You can now set the value of the %TEST% runtime variable to the value of the
> compiler variable at compiler time (from the command line, Releases, from
> the script, etc.).
Good morning Friedrich!
Actually I was hoping for a dialog that would pop up when I hit 'compile'.
Rather than have to edit the script or command line...
On another issue, I notice all the 'Call dll' examples seem to use a hand coded
DLL, and I wondered why. At the moment my APPGEN one works OK, _except_ for
crashing the installer at the end<G>. I need to pop up a select list from a
file.
Thanks!
John Newman
Software Partners Australia
NewsArchive
03-12-2008, 03:06 AM
Hi John,
> Actually I was hoping for a dialog that would pop up when I hit 'compile'.
> Rather than have to edit the script or command line...
Of course, absolutely no problem ;-) See attached SetVar.sb6 demo script
and attached source code screenshot snippet.
> On another issue, I notice all the 'Call dll' examples seem to use a hand
> coded DLL, and I wondered why. At the moment my APPGEN one works OK,
> _except_ for crashing the installer at the end<G>. I need to pop up a
> select list from a file.
If the installer crashes then your DLL is "buggy" <g>. Wrong calling
convention, wrong exports, etc. You have to create a valid DLL.
Here is an .app demo (see testdll.zip).
http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=17768#post17768
Does this help?
--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910
"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes
-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner
NewsArchive
03-12-2008, 04:51 AM
> Of course, absolutely no problem ;-) See attached SetVar.sb6 demo script
Thank you, I'll give that a go.
> > On another issue, I notice all the 'Call dll' examples seem to use a hand
> > coded DLL, and I wondered why. At the moment my APPGEN one works OK,
> > _except_ for crashing the installer at the end<G>. I need to pop up a
> > select list from a file.
>
> If the installer crashes then your DLL is "buggy" <g>. Wrong calling
> convention, wrong exports, etc. You have to create a valid DLL.
>
> Here is an .app demo (see testdll.zip).
>
> http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=17768#post17768
Thanks. I'll investigate this and get this going. I appreciate your rapid help
very much!
John Newman
Software Partners Australia
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.